灵魂的容器 Vessel of Souls

Duration : 11:00-19:00 (周一闭馆)

Opening : 2022.10.04-2022.10.30

Venue : 上海市徐汇区复兴中路1363弄3号108室

Tel : +86 (0)21 5496 1918

Web : https://www.shunartdesign.com

Artist : 此木山红大Mikuo KONOKI、小林麻衣子Maiko KOBAYASHI、新藤杏子Kyoko SHINDO、岛内美佳Mika SHIMAUCHI、水野亮Ryo MIZUNO

从文艺复兴伊始,人文主义思想开始将人的重要性置于世界的中心,艺术家们开始将人性的光辉注入到绘画中来。此后,我们看到了伦勃朗自画像中对人的精神性的刻画;看到了表现主义将情感描绘推向新的高度;看到了弗洛伊德将肉体的真实融入到人性中;在新超现实主义与新表现主义等流派的影响下,很多后现代艺术家仍然孜孜不倦地围绕着人性的主题创作着。如果我们将焦点转向东方,聚焦到日本当代艺术,受到西方绘画的深刻影响的同时,浮世绘,“二次元”文化,以及超扁平艺术,也在深深地启发着日本艺术家的创作。在不断的变革和融合中,尽管创作对象来自不同文化背景下的人与事,但不变的是对灵魂的捕捉。肖像类的艺术(描绘人类情感为主)远远超越了一个职业范畴,它是一种对人的着迷,让你一直沉醉于引人探究的一个个鲜活的个体。从这个意义上讲,似乎没有什么比表面更加神秘的事物了。

熏依社画廊为本次展览带来的日本艺术家,他们的年龄、经历、对灵魂的审视方式以及创作技法都截然不同。这是一次非常有趣的探索,他们用独特的方式,记录他们眼中的个体与群体,诉说着生命的故事,当这些故事放在同一个空间的时候,我们不再用单一的思维方式看待人生,视野被展开,不同的选择,不同的创造力被注入到原本空空如也的生命容器中。

小林麻衣子在学生时代遭遇霸凌的经历在她心中形成了创作的种子。她创造出一个独一无二的可爱生灵,苍白而柔软,仿佛受到了无形力量的威胁而感到无助,却在内心留存一道勇气与希望的光。艺术家将细腻的思绪,以及与他人的情感连接放入到这个生物体中。小林的创作风格是最接近超扁平艺术团体的,不同的是,她在创作时,会反复画出脸部特征又反复擦去,被擦去后残留的痕迹和最终的表情融合在一起,这使得扁平变得不再那么单薄,更接近于情绪呈现于面部之前来自内心深处的复杂头绪。艺术家彻底研究了人类的面部表情的轮廓与线条,在她的笔下,简单的线条有着可以追溯的线索,耐人寻味。

水野亮用铅笔与墨笔创造出了无数神秘生物,这些生物似乎从他的手中自然流淌出来,他的绘画的速度之流畅,超出观者的想象,仿佛能感受到画面的色调逐渐暗下来,迫使观者用全部的感官去捕捉从深邃的黑暗中浮现出的细节。艺术家对现实世界秉持着一份冷静,却在另一个如梦境般的平行空间中,充满了天马行空的想象,在那里他是上帝,主宰着这些五花八门的生物的身体、情绪、思绪与能量。

新藤杏子,一位艺术家,也是一位母亲。家庭的分量和孩子的养育,与她的创作有着分解不开的联系。我们在她的作品中看到了以家庭,世俗生活为背景的叙事性,艺术家善于体察生活,日常生活中与人的关系以及由此产生的事件在她的创作中是不可或缺的。新藤杏子的创作技法令人印象深刻,晕染的出来的有趣的轮廓,让人物有了时间的流逝感,即使婴儿的面庞也让人有穿越时空的感受。新藤杏子近期的作品越来越多地将环境融入到人物的刻画中,晕染的技法运用到了物体上,同样令人陶醉,由此她笔下的故事开始变得越来越丰满。

岛内美佳渴望去触及这个世界的现实,想留下一丝能够触摸得到的痕迹。粘土作为艺术家最常用的材料,可以直接用手触摸,唤起童年的记忆,也触达了真实的感受。尤其是对生与死的探究是艺术家最关心的主题之一,她认为这对于了解我们是谁、我们该如何生活非常重要,但遗憾的是即便没有这样的思考,我们仍然如此生活在这个世界。艺术家从个人化的图景中发展出了特有的图示,并以雕塑以及多变的形式表现出来。她的作品中肉眼可见的不完美是一种行动与宣言,戏谑地再现了在全球化重压下的人类过度追求高效的生活方式,以及始终无法适应其节奏的讽刺。

此木三红大85岁高龄,是日本德高望重的艺术家。他以“生命的尊严”为母题,只愿有生命的主体受到尊重,孕育以至于大放光芒。艺术家名字中的“此木”隐含中文的“此时此刻”,他对当下的珍视,和对生命的礼赞,贯穿了他的作品。艺术家热爱画猫,他将自己对生命的理解注入到了猫的表情与姿态中,孩童般稚气未脱的笔触被完全释放,没有任何的拘束,自由而洒脱。艺术家还利用废弃金属作为材质,发挥想象力,创造出活力四射的生物,其中带着的一股子“拙”气,如同一种智慧,提醒着每一个忘记当下、为生活而焦虑着的人们。

生活在时代长河中的人们似乎很难掌控自己的命运,当你把自己和一个更大的背景联系在一起时,并没有特别明显的直接的作用,但作为一个更充分意义上的人在生活,作为人,特别了不起的事情就是,你的精神性的存在,这也是艺术家在作品中追求与创作着的。

创作不仅是艺术家的职责,每一个生命体都可以做自己的创造者,将生命视为自己最好的礼物去创造它,而不仅仅是被创造的容器而已。

当作为群体动物的人因为“同”或者“不同”聚集在一起,如同绘画中不同的色块与体积。不同声音的交流,多元文化的交织,在当今社会有着非凡意义,疫情席卷全球,每一个文化圈层中的人都不应该封闭在自己的视野中,将自己的价值观强加于他人,始终保持丰富、且独立自省的灵魂,才是不让世界变成一色,不让人类面对病毒时不堪一击的方法。

 

陈韵

于2022年9月,上海

Leave a Reply

邮箱地址不会被公开。

灵魂的容器 Vessel of Souls

Duration : 11:00-19:00 (closed on Monday)

Opening : 2022.10.04-2022.10.30

Venue : Room 108, No. 3, Lane 1363, Middle Fuxing Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai, China 200031

Tel : +86 (0)21 5496 1918

Web : https://www.shunartdesign.com

Artist : 此木山红大Mikuo KONOKI、小林麻衣子Maiko KOBAYASHI、新藤杏子Kyoko SHINDO、岛内美佳Mika SHIMAUCHI、水野亮Ryo MIZUNO

From the beginning of the Renaissance, humanists began to place the importance of humanity at the center of the world, and artists began to inject the brilliance of humans into their paintings. Since then, we have seen the depiction of human spirituality in Rembrandt’s self-portrait; we have seen expressionism push emotional depiction to a new height; we have seen Freud’s integration of physical reality into human nature; Under the influence of neo-surrealism and neo-expressionism, many postmodern artists are still working tirelessly around the theme of human nature. If we turn our focus to the East and focus on Japanese contemporary art, while being deeply influenced by Western painting, Ukiyo-e, ACG subculture, and Super-flat art are also deeply inspiring the creation of Japanese artists. In the constant revolution and integration, although the objects of creation are from different cultural backgrounds, the constant is the capture of the soul. Portrait art (mainly depicting humans) goes far beyond a professional category. It is a fascination with people, which keeps you immersed in living and intriguing individuals. In this sense, nothing seems more mysterious than the surface.

The Japanese artists brought to this exhibition by Shun Art Gallery are completely different in age, experience, way of examining the soul, and creative techniques. This is a very interesting exploration. They use a unique way to record the individuals and groups in their eyes and tell the story of life. When these stories are placed in the same space, we no longer look at life in a single way of thinking. The field of vision is expanded, and different choices and different creativity are injected into the original empty container of life.

Maiko Kobayashi’s experience of being bullied when she was a student formed the seeds of her creation in her heart. She created a unique and lovely creature, pale and soft, as if threatened by invisible forces and feeling helpless, but she kept a light of courage and hope in her heart. The artist puts delicate thoughts and emotional connections with others into this living body. Kobayashi’s creative style is the closest to the Super-flat art group. The difference is that when she is creating, she repeatedly draws and erases facial features, and the traces left after being erased are merged with the final expression. It makes the flat become less thin and closer to the complex thoughts from the deepest part of the heart before the emotions appear on the face. The artist has thoroughly studied the contours and lines of human facial expressions. In her brush, the simple lines have traceable clues and are intriguing.

Ryo Mizuno created countless mysterious creatures with pencils and ink pens, these creatures seem to flow naturally from his hands. The speedy images are so smooth that exceed the viewers’ imagination as if they can feel the tone of the picture gradually darkening. The viewer is forced to use all his senses to capture the details that emerge from the deep darkness. The artist maintains a calmness towards the real world, but in another parallel space like a dream, he is full of fantastic imagination, where he is God, who dominates the bodies, emotions, thoughts, and energy of these flourished creatures.

Kyoko Shindo is an artist and a mother. The weight of the family and the upbringing of children are inseparably linked to her creations. We see in her work the narrative in the background of family, mundane life, for the artist, the relationship with people that happens in daily life and the events that arise from it are indispensable in her creation. Kyoko Shindo’s creative techniques are impressive, and the interesting outlines that are smudged out give the characters a sense of time passing, and even the faces of babies make people feel like they have traveled through time and space. Kyoko Shindo’s recent works increasingly incorporate the environment into the depiction of characters, and the technique of smearing is applied to objects, which is equally intoxicating. From then on, her works and the stories she wrote began to become more and more full and fascinating.

Mika Shimauchi is eager to touch the reality of this world and wants to leave a trace that can be touched. As artists’ most commonly used material, clay can be directly touched with hands, evoking childhood memories and touching real sense. In particular, the exploration of life and death is one of the themes that the artist cares most about. She believes that this is very important to understand who we are and how we should live. Unfortunately, even without such thinking, we still live in this world. The artist develops motifs from her own landscapes and exhibits them as sculptures and various works. The imperfections visible within the works are a motion to humorously represent the irony of the over-efficiency of our lifestyles under the weight of globalization created by mankind, and yet how we are unable to fully adapt.

At the age of 85 years old, Mikuo Konoki is a highly respected artist in Japan. He takes “the dignity of life” as the theme, only wishing that the subject with life will be respected, nurtured, and shine. “Konoki” in the artist’s name implies the Chinese word for “this moment”. His cherishing of the moment and his celebration of life run through his works. The artist loves to draw cats. He injects his own understanding of life into the expressions and gestures of cats. The childlike brushstrokes are completely released without any restraint, free and easy. The artist also uses scrap metal (Ganta) as a material to use his imagination to create vibrant creatures, which carry a “clumsy” air, like a kind of wisdom, reminding everyone who forgets the present and is anxious about life.

People living through the ages seem to have a hard time controlling their own destiny, and when you connect yourself to a larger context, it doesn’t have a particularly obvious direct effect, but as a human being in a fuller sense in life, as a human being, the most remarkable thing is your spiritual existence, which is what the artist pursues and creates in his works.

Creation is not only the responsibility of the artist, every living being can be its own creator, and regard life as its own best gift to create it, not just a created container.

When people as group animals gather together because of “same” or “different”, it is like different color blocks and volumes in a painting. The exchange of different voices and the interweaving of multiple cultures are of extraordinary significance in today’s society. The epidemic is sweeping the world. People in every cultural circle should not be closed in their own vision, impose their own values on others, and always maintain a rich and independent soul is the way to prevent the world from becoming one-colored and prevent human beings from being vulnerable in the face of viruses.

Yun CHEN

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.